Baldaufs vs. Genetics, 3rd Weigh-In

Another two weeks, another weigh-in. We’re now six weeks in, with our first real hurdle (Thanksgiving) coming up.

As usual, I had a few questions for each of us to answer this week. They are as follows:

1. What do you think was the biggest problem that led to you needing to lose weight?
2. How are you dealing with any setbacks?
3. Any plans going forward?

So how’d everyone do the last two weeks? Well, let’s see…

The Uncle (Dan)

1. “The problem that led to my need to lose weight was the sneakiness of the problem. Its uncanny ability to creep up on you like Jason chasing a shirtless chick. Also, my love of food acting as a reward, motivator, antidepressant and energy source made it hard to step away from the table.”

2. “Dealing with setbacks has been ok for me, as I knew the actions would have consequences. The resulting setback was more of a leveling then gain.”

3. “My plan going forward is to stay with the anti-carb movement until Thanksgiving, cooking lots of whole grain breads for Thanksgiving and focusing on the biking until the snow flies. Then I might just take up running like Rocky in the snow (80’s movie reference).”

(Side note: If anyone doesn’t get the Rocky reference, I am very disappointed in them. Rocky IV is a very important movie about the end of the Cold War (citation Bill Simmons from ESPN). Also, it snowed today. Yay for Wisconsin.)

Starting Weight: 268.8 lbs
Last Weigh-In: 259 lbs
Current Weight: 260 lbs
Overall % Change: -2.53% 

The Bob (Dad)

1. “Lack of exercise, due to lack of interest in exercise and the inability to say no to food.”

2. “I’m whining a lot, but that doesn’t seem to be working either, so then I stress eat Halloween candy.”

3. “I think I’ll try going low carb, but Thanksgiving will be tough.”

Starting Weight: 223 lbs
Last Weigh-In: 215.8 lbs
Current Weight: 216.8 lbs
Overall % Change: -2.78%

Me (Shane)

1. “The biggest problem for me was getting into a habit of not working out. I had a problem with that my sophomore year of college, but I did a really good job of sticking with working out throughout my junior year. Around winter break of my 4th year, I got too busy and stopped working out and never really got back into it. And then it became the norm and I stopped caring about it.”

2. “I started off really strong last week but since then it’s been all setbacks. They’ve been killing me. Something will come up and I’ll miss a workout, and then I’ll follow it up by eating out or eating too many sweets. I haven’t been handling things well.”

3. “Really committing myself to working out. I missed Monday, but now I’m back on track. Princeton Club has been treating me well. I’ve done alright with cutting my portions down, now I just need to rein in my sweet tooth to a manageable level.”

Starting Weight: 195 lbs
Last Weigh-In: 191 lbs
Current Weight: 193 lbs
Overall % Change: -1.03%

Recap:

The Bob takes the lead during a week of slip-ups all around. It’s not a great sign for us to be falling back with the holidays coming up, but it’s not unexpected. The fact that all three of us gained this time around suggests that it’s more of an general issue of the enthusiasm of the first few weeks wearing off.

So we’re combating that by placing a 2-week side bet. Whoever loses the most these next two weeks wins a bottle of brandy (or some other booze) from the other two, to be paid up on Thanksgiving. This should help kick start things before the holidays while getting all three of us back on track. Remember, it’s a combination of short- and long-term goals that holds the key.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

