OSS — 13 Days Left

If you’ve been following closely, the last OSS was 33 days left. Now we’re at 13. No, I haven’t lost the ability to count. I’ve had another interview scheduled. For two weeks earlier than the other one. I found all of this out yesterday and very MODERATELY freaked OUT. This mostly consisted of me spacing out and muttering, “oh fuck oh fuck oh fuck.”


(Yes, this is the perfect time to panic)

Now last time we were on this subject, the pants fit! So freaking out would seem like an overreaction. But things weren’t great after last Monday. Two problems popped up. I was under the weather for a few days, keeping me from really working out. And speaking of weather, it sucked for awhile. Cold and rain, not exactly great biking weather. Especially coming off a cold.

With the cold, I didn’t want to cook very much. So, we ended up ordering out too much. It’s not like things fell apart. This last week was just kind of a step backwards. Which turned out to be rather poorly timed, considering my surprisingly soon interview. (Note: I had the choice for what day. I could have chosen even sooner or chosen after my other interview. But with all things med school, the earlier the better. So I decided to give myself one extra week from the earliest possibility, then started panicking. [Note to the note: panicking is a strange word. Are there any other words that add a -k when you add an -ing to the end? Hmm.]).

Luckily, all is not lost. First, Baldaufs vs Genetics started Monday. If you missed it, you can click on the category on the right (over thurr ===>) or click here. So that’s good. (Also, there’s an update coming to my starting weight. The scale I bought is crap, so I’m fixing that. But I’m roughly 5 pounds higher than recorded. Lot of parentheses today. I apologize for the tangents.) Additionally, I’ve temporarily solved my bad weather workout problem. Thank you Groupon.

See Groupon has had a few gym membership deals lately. So I can afford the short-term memberships without having to lock-in for longer than I want and I can keep moving around so I don’t get bored. First up, 9rounds gym in Madison for a month. Two months at Princeton Club are next, so that’ll carry me into the new year. And 9rounds might just be the perfect thing to get me all set by my interview.

9rounds is a kinda/sorta boxing gym. You do nine 3-minute rounds (hence the name) of different workouts, non-stop. It’s pretty intense. I thought the 30 seconds in between would be for changing stations/catching my breath. Not so much. Mini-workouts instead. The first day on Monday killed me. My second trip went a little better in terms of feeling like death halfway through. It’s the jump start I needed after last week.

Me during round 9

Also refocusing on cooking a little bit. Bought a vegetarian meal from Whole Foods for last night. It was terrible. I’ll cover it in The Vegetarian Adventure. Mostly chili for the rest of the week. I’ve done pretty good of limiting myself lately.

Anyways, I’m going to try on the suit on Monday again. Depending on where I’m at then, I’ll go into red alert or I’ll keep doing what I’m doing. We shall see. Next few days are going to be tough. Need to get to 9rounds one more time, but I work two straight doubles, followed by UW-Nebraska (go Badgers!) and a 2nd close for the week. Tough to stay motivated to workout/cook when I’m tired, so I’ll have to fight through it. Things just got real.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

