OSS — 33 Days Left

Hello again. I got sick of trying to figure out which day it was in Operation Suit Squeeze and which days this post covered, so I’m switching it to a countdown up above. In case you missed it last post, the first interview is Oct. 24th, so the clock is ticking.

First, the good news! I decided it was about time to try the pants on again. Get a real measure of my progress. And I got them on! Note, I did not say that they fit. But I did manage to get them buttoned and zipped without putting in a serious arm workout trying to get the sides to meet. It’s still a squeeze, though, and there isn’t really room for the shirts to tuck in yet. So there’s still work to be done.

But this proves that I have been making progress! When I started, they weren’t anywhere close to fitting.

Other than that, not much is new. I’m still mainly biking for a workout. Did 17 miles on Monday in just over an hour. No big deal (brushes shoulder off casually). Though the quick time was mostly due to a fear of not being back in time to pick up the girlfriend, which I made it back just in time for. Still, the urgency was nice and really pushed me on the bike.

I was surprised again at how well my legs held up. I used to look at triathlons where they bike like 100 miles (I’m too lazy to look up an actual distance right now) and think that it was crazy, but I’m starting to feel like it’s not impossible. I was shooting for 20 miles, but I think I could do quite a bit more. Especially if I actually start using the gears on my bike. (Longer tangent coming. Skip a paragraph or two if you don’t like sidetracking).

I have an old road bike. Allegedly, its former owner used it for races and the guy at the bike shop was curious about it, commenting on its nice parts. (My only response was: where? It’s pretty much frame, tires, etc. Basic bike. Clearly my bike knowledge is immense). So, despite its image, it is a nicer bike. But I have no clue how the gears work.

Now, I do understand the basic concept of gears and how they work on a bike. But these are the  kind of gears that are attached to the frame. Also, they lack numbers. Originally, I didn’t mess with them because I was getting used to the different position and balance required for a road bike, and I was NOT about to let go of the bars if I didn’t have to. Now, I’m used to the bike and I feel surprisingly natural on it. But I still haven’t used the gears and I’ve been a little afraid to experiment. First, I’m still saving up for a helmet so it seems like an unnecessary wipeout risk. Second, I have this suspicion that the chain could use some work (or replacement) and I really don’t want to mess it up and have to pay to fix that either.

Anyways, once I get the gears down, I feel like I could put some serious distance in on the bike. Until it snows. Which could be any day now, knowing Wisconsin.

In addition to the bike, I feel like my appetite has decreased significantly. I don’t eat breakfast very often anymore and it’s not really even a conscious choice. Just kind of happens. Some days it will be 12 or 1 and I’ll realize I haven’t eaten and marvel at my lack of hunger.

I don’t have any problem with this whatsoever. I’ve never bought into the need to eat breakfast. If you’re not hungry, then don’t eat. If you crash a couple hours later, might want to consider eating breakfast. Pretty straight forward.

I also think the decline in appetite is from eating less in general. Which is good. A move to smaller portion sizes was something I definitely needed, and it’s a lot easier to eat less when your stomach isn’t trying to get you to eat everything in sight.

So 33 days left. Another half inch off the waist and I’ll be set. Feeling pretty confident these days. Plus I’ve got another trick up my sleeve, but you’ll have to wait until next Monday to hear about that. (Woo self-promotion! But I’m pretty excited about it.)

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

