OSS Days 3-4 — Biking and Badger Games

Wednesday went well. Really well. Plans of running on every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday didn’t pan out with the girlfriend as she had to work, but we’re still working on a set routine. So I had to change things around a bit. I tried running with Olive, but I waited too long to go and she was a little to mellowed out for a run. So we switched it to a short walk and then I went for a bike ride.

I have always like riding my bike (especially know that I have my shitty road bike back) but I just haven’t ever gotten around to going for long rides for a workout. I made a rough plan of my ride and set off. And it was great. Much more enjoyable than running. I ended up doing a little over 7 miles, which turns out to be a little bit short for me. Still finding my limitations as I get back into working out. Next time I’ll probably shoot for 10 miles. It was a great route for a run, though, once I work up to that distance.

After the bike ride, I worked all evening. I successfully avoided all rogue fries (patting myself on the back) but I did give in at the end of my shift and at a few handfuls of popcorn. Post-work, dinner was half a steak and watermelon. One thing I’ve been trying to do is cut my meat portions in half for every meal. It wasn’t as bad as I expected. The sweets ban also survived through the first 3 days.

Thursday was a little bit off. I worked a very long/busy shift in the morning and afternoon as we got ready for the first Badger football game. It started off as a nightmare in terms of work, but things went quite well afterwards. However, the boss brought in donuts. This presented a dilemma. I would feel bad not eating one, as my boss went through the trouble of bringing them in. Additionally, when I worked for the football team the last five years, we would always have donuts on gameday, and I didn’t want to mess with a working system. Foolish justification? Absolutely. But I did limit myself to only one donut (and I was very hungry and needed a de-stressor), which was a minor achievement in itself. Avoided the rogue fries again and managed to avoid to popcorn, but that was partially due to how busy we were.

After work, I met up with a friend for a few drinks before the game and lucked into a couple of free tickets. That messed with the dinner plans, so the girlfriend and I grabbed a bite to eat at the stadium. One brat and half a pretzel (which was cold and a definite mistake) for dinner wasn’t too bad. After the game, we went out and I had a few more drinks. So overall on the day, I didn’t eat all that healthy (and drinking certainly isn’t going to help my cause) but I did manage to limit the amount that I ate. And I showed restraint in the face of sweets.

However, the sweets ban did only make it a meager 3 days. Which may or may not actually be an achievement. I have a terrible sweet tooth. This is representative of me and sweets. Also, I love Hyperbole and a Half. (Seriously, click on it. It’s amazing. DO IT.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

