Weekly Links #2

This week’s links are fewer than I normally would like, but I’m using a couple of articles for a post coming later today or tomorrow. Getting closer to having them in on Thursday though! One of these weeks I’ll actually have them on time (or I’ll meet myself halfway and make it a Friday post). Anyways, three of the posts this week are from kevinmd.com. Great site; always interesting stuff on there. Usually I’ll try to work a little more variety in, but some of them warranted a separate post this week. Without further ado:

1. “What Would a Smart, Compassionate, Affordable Health Care System Look Like?” This is an insightful piece on some of the problems in our healthcare system. At the heart of the article is the idea that we are spending too much for what we are getting. It doesn’t offer any solutions, but does raise a number of questions in an attempt to get some discourse started.

2. “Two Changes to Cut Federal Health Care Expenditures” This article does offer a couple of solutions to the massive amount spent on health care. #1 surprised me. It just seems odd to me that negotiating for prices would be prohibited in the first place. #2 also makes sense at a basic level, but I want to know who would be deciding efficacy and effectiveness. I would worry about politics getting too involved and ending up right back where we started.

3. “Why Doctors Shouldn’t Leave Their Emotions Behind” I found this piece interesting as someone looking to get into medicine. I think I would rather be the kind of doctor who does form a relationship with each patient rather than staying emotionally detached. But at the same time, I can see how that would take a definite toll. Thought it was interesting.

4. “Corn Subsidies Make Unhealthy Food Choices the Rational Ones” This topic is one I find very frustrating personally. I’ll probably end up doing a whole post on it at some point, but this article does a good job of getting the basic info out there. Our national agricultural system needs an overhaul. I’ll save the rest of the rant for another time and just leave it at the article for now.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

